











Conference on Non-bank Financial Institutions and Financial Stability

London School of Economics Conference suite, 9th floor, Pankhurst House Clement's Inn, LSE, London WC2A 2AZ

04 October 2019

Day 0: Thursday, 3rd October 2019

19:00 - Conference dinner (by invitation only)

Day 1: Friday, 4th October 2019

08:30-09:00 Registration

09:00-10:30 Session 1: Central Clearing

Central Counterparty and the Design of Collateral Requirements

Jessie Wang, Arizona State University

Discussant: Wengian Huang, Bank for International Settlements

The Cost of Clearing Fragmentation Evangelos Benos, Bank of England

Discussant: Ansgar Walther, Imperial College

10:30-11:00 **Coffee Break**

11:00-12:30 Session 2: Collateral and Credit Provision

Re-use of collateral: leverage, volatility, and welfare

Michael Grill, European Central Bank

Discussant: Georgy Chabakauri, London School of Economics

Corporate Credit Provision

Nina Boyarchenko, New York FED and CEPR

Discussant: Saleem Bahaj, Bank of England

12:30-13:30 **Lunch**









The Paul Woolley Centre for the Study of Capital Market Dysfunctionality



13:30-14:30 Keynote lecture

Ralph Koijen, Professor of Finance and Fama Faculty Fellow,

University of Chicago and CEPR

14:30-16:00 **Session 3: Fire Sales**

Similar Investors

Diane Pierret, Luxembourg School of Finance, University of

Luxembourg

Discussant: Wolf Wagner, Rotterdam School of Management and

CEPR

Mitigating Fire Sales with Contracts: Theory and Evidence

Guillaume Vuillemey, HEC Paris and CEPR

Discussant: Peter Kondor, London School of Economics and CEPR

16:00-16:30 **Coffee Break**

16:30-18:00 Session 4: Liquidity Creation and Regulation

Dealer Funding and Market Liquidity

John Kuong, INSEAD

Discussant: Jing Zeng, Frankfurt School of Finance and

Management

Inefficient Liquidity Creation

Paul Schempp, University of Cologne

Discussant: Egemen Eren, Bank for International Settlements

18:00-18:15 Conference close

Programme committee

Franklin Allen (Imperial and CEPR), Marco Bardoscia (BoE), Alina Barnett (BoE), Thummim Cho (LSE), Sinem Hacioglu Hoke (BoE), Arjun Mahalingam (BoE), Martin Oehmke (LSE and CEPR), Lukasz Rachel (BoE), Katrin Tinn (Imperial), Dimitri Vayanos (LSE and CEPR), Ansgar Walther (Imperial), Nora Wegner (BoE) and Kathy Yuan (LSE and CEPR).