Turkey workshop

CALL FOR PAPERS: 5th LSE Workshop on Political Economy of Turkey

Event date: Friday 7th June 2024   Venue: LSE campus
Submission deadline: 1st March 2024
Organisers: Orkun Saka (City & LSE), & Berkay Ozcan (LSE)

European Institute, Contemporary Turkish Studies, School of Public Policy and Systemic Risk Centre at the London School of Economics and Political Science are jointly organizing a workshop on the Political Economy of Turkey. The workshop will take place at LSE campus on 7th June 2024. It will feature a number of selected presentations/discussions and culminate in a public keynote lecture. The event will provide a platform for researchers and policymakers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome.

The workshop features an in-person keynote speech by Prof. Ufuk Akçiğit (University of Chicago).

There will be a dedicated discussant for each paper, as well as open floor discussion. Papers are invited on the following (non-exhaustive) list of topics:

  • Elections, political crises, democracy, and nationalism
  • Exchange rates, bank credit, systemic risks, and debt management
  • Political connections, trade, firm performance, and regional inequality 
  • Economics of immigration and demographic transition
  • Educational reforms, family and health policies, and topics in public economics

There is no registration fee, and we aim to offer a few travel and accommodation support grants for the invited speakers. While we accept preliminary versions, presenters need to submit full papers. Please submit yours by sending it attached to the following email address: o.saka@lse.ac.uk.

The authors will be notified about the acceptance of papers by 22nd March 2023.

Programme Committee:
Chris Anderson (LSE)
Selim Aytac (Koç)
Selva Demiralp (Koç)
Aslı Demirgüç-Kunt (CGD)
Refet Gurkaynak (Bilkent)

Yaprak Gursoy (LSE)
Timur Kuran (Duke)
Davide Luca (Cambridge)
Adeel Malik (Oxford)
Berkay Ozcan (LSE)
Orkun Saka (City)