The Financial Markets Group wishes to congratulate Ricardo Reis, A.W. Phillips Professor of Economics, LSE, and Silvana Tenreyro, Professor of Economics, LSE, and External MPC member, Bank of England, on winning the 2021 Yrjö Jahnsson Award for important contributions to macroeconomics.

This award recognises the recipients' work on monetary economics, on inequality and macroeconomic outcomes, on fiscal policy and automatic stabilizers, and currency unions. Ricardo and Silvana's work is also being recognised for its deep impact on macroeconomics and for the important contributions made to other fields.

The biennial award was established in 1993 by the Finnish Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation and seeks to highlight European economists, no older than 45 years old, who have made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe. The EEA cooperates with the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation in the selection of the award winners.

Read the announcement in full here.